Entdecken Sie die berühmte Sagrada Familia Fassade

Sagrada Familia Fassade

Die Basilika Sagrada Familia ist ein phänomenales architektonisches Wunderwerk in Barcelona. Die Basilica minor befindet sich seit über 140 Jahren im Bau und ist die größte unvollendete Kirche der Welt. Das UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe vereint die spanische Spätgotik, den katalanischen Modernismus und den Jugendstil.

Nach ihrer Fertigstellung wird die Basilika 18 Türme haben, die zusammen drei prächtige Fassaden bilden, nämlich die Geburts-, die Passions- und die Glorienfassade. Aktuell sind nur zwei der drei Fassaden fertiggestellt.

Die Sagrada Familia Fassade

Sagrada Familia Fassade

Die Sagrada Familia hat drei Fassaden, die jeweils einem bestimmten Aspekt des Lebens Jesu gewidmet sind. Von den acht vollständigen Türmen sind vier Teil der Geburtsfassade und vier Teil der Passionsfassade.

  • Die nach Osten ausgerichtete Geburtsfassade ist die älteste der drei Fassaden und ist der Geburt Jesu gewidmet.
  • Die nach Westen ausgerichtete Passionsfassade ist der Passion, dem Tod und der Auferstehung Christi gewidmet.
  • Die dritte ist die nach Süden ausgerichtete Glorienfassade, die als Hauptfassade der Basilika dienen wird und dem glorreichen Wesen Jesu auch nach seinem Tod gewidmet ist.

Die Highlights der Sagrada Familia Fassade

Sagrada Familia Fassade

Die Geburtsfassade

Die älteste der drei Fassaden ist die Geburtsfassade, die dem frühen Leben Jesu gewidmet ist. Die Geburtsfassade wurde zwischen 1894 und 1930 erbaut und ist der einzige Teil der Sagrada Familia, den Gaudi zu seinen Lebzeiten errichten ließ.

Bei genauer Betrachtung ist die Fassade in drei Tore unterteilt. Das linke ist Josef gewidmet und wird als Tor der Hoffnung bezeichnet, das rechte als Tor des Glaubens, das der Jungfrau Maria gewidmet ist, und das mittlere ist Jesus gewidmet und wird als Tor der Nächstenliebe bezeichnet. Zu sehen sind die Skulpturen der Geburt Jesu, der Hirten und der Heiligen Drei Könige, umgeben von Engeln. Die Türen und Wände sind von der Natur inspiriert und mit Blättern und Blumen sowie Marmortieren wie Schildkröten, Salamandern und Pelikanen und einem riesigen Baum des Lebens, der von weißen Marmortauben umgeben ist, gestaltet. Er stellt die Geburt Christi dar und ist ein Symbol für Geburt, Leben und Licht. Die Fassade gipfelt in vier Glockentürmen, die dem Heiligen Barnabas, dem Heiligen Matthäus, dem Heiligen Judas und dem Heiligen Simon gewidmet sind.

Sagrada Familia Fassade

Die Passionsfassade

Die Arbeiten an der Passionsfassade, die sich an den Zeichnungen Gaudis orientierten, begannen 1954 und wurden 1976 abgeschlossen. Die Passionsfassade stellt die Passion, den Tod und die Auferstehung Christi dar und wird oft als die ikonischste Fassade der Basilika angesehen. Laut Gaudi sollte diese Fassade „hart, kahl und wie aus Knochen gemacht“ sein, und die Fassade wirkt tatsächlich so. Diese Fassade unterscheidet sich in ihrer Form deutlich von der Geburtsfassade und wirkt wie ein Skelett mit Säulen, die an Knochen erinnern, und ausdrucksstarken Skulpturen, die die letzte Lebenswoche Christi nachstellen. 

Die Passionsfassade wird von sechs großen Säulen gestützt, die an Mammutbaumstämme erinnern. Auf den sechs Säulen befindet sich ein pyramidenförmiger Giebel mit 18 knochenförmigen Säulen, die in einem großen Kreuz mit einer Dornenkrone gipfeln. In die Fassade sind Szenen eingemeißelt, die in drei Ebenen unterteilt sind – die letzte Nacht Jesu vor der Kreuzigung auf der untersten Ebene, der Kalvarienberg Christi auf der mittleren Ebene und Tod, Begräbnis und Auferstehung Christi auf der obersten Ebene. Auf der obersten Ebene ist eine goldene Skulptur von Jesus zu sehen, die seine Himmelfahrt zeigt. 

Sagrada Familia Fassade

Die Glorienfassade

Die neueste ist die Glorienfassade, die nach ihrer Fertigstellung den Zugang zum Mittelschiff der Basilika ermöglichen wird. Die Glorienfassade stellt die ewige Herrlichkeit Christi dar und zeigt Szenen der Himmelfahrt Christi und der ewigen Seligkeit. Der Bau der Fassade begann 2002 und ist noch lange nicht abgeschlossen. Obwohl sie noch nicht fertiggestellt ist, ist sie bereits die höchste aller Fassaden. Gaudi war sich bewusst, dass der Bau der Glorienfassade zu seinen Lebzeiten nicht fertig gestellt werden würde, und zeichnete daher nur einige Skizzen mit einer allgemeinen Vorstellung von seiner Vision und seinem Plan, der Darstellungen des Todes, des Jüngsten Gerichts, der Hölle und der Gloria umfasste. Während seine Modelle 1936 zerstört wurden, wurden die ursprünglichen Fragmente verwendet, um den Entwurf für die Fassade zu entwickeln.

Die Fassade wird hohe Säulen haben, die den sieben heiligen Gaben gewidmet sind und die sieben tödlichen Gaben im unteren Teil und die sieben himmlischen Tugenden im oberen Teil darstellen. Die Fassade wird fünf Türen haben, die den fünf Schiffen des Tempels entsprechen. Die mittlere Tür hat einen dreifachen Eingang, sodass es insgesamt sieben Eingänge gibt, die die sieben Sakramente Taufe, Firmung, Eucharistie, Buße, Priesterweihe, Ehe und Krankensalbung darstellen. Die zentralen Türen sind mit den Worten „Unser tägliches Brot gib uns heute“ in fünfzig verschiedenen Sprachen beschriftet. Auf den Türgriffen sind die Buchstaben „A“ und „G“ abgebildet, die die Initialen von Antoni Gaudí bilden und den Satz „Führe uns nicht in Versuchung“ enthalten.

Die Passionsfassade und Geburtsfassade im Vergleich

Obwohl beide Fassaden völlig unterschiedlich und auf ihre eigene Weise gleichermaßen prächtig sind, müssen Sie beim Besuch der Basilika möglicherweise eine Entscheidung treffen. Die meisten Tickets beschränken Ihren Besuch auf das Erdgeschoss, und wenn Sie Zugang zu den Türmen haben möchten, müssen Sie ein spezielles Ticket mit Turmzugang erwerben. Bei der Buchung müssen Sie auswählen, welchen Turm Sie besichtigen möchten. Wir haben die Highlights der Sagrada Familia Fassaden zusammengefasst.

Sagrada Familia Fassade

Die Geburtsfassade

Die Geburtsfassade könnte als bedeutender angesehen werden, da sie die Geburt und die ersten Tage Jesu darstellt. Da diese Fassade die einzige ist, die zu Lebzeiten Antoni Gaudis errichtet wurde, stellt sie wahrscheinlich seine Vision am besten dar.

Der Besuch dieser Fassade beginnt mit einer Aufzugfahrt auf den Turm des Heiligen Judas bringt. Nach der Fahrt mit dem Aufzug müssen Sie eine Treppe hinaufsteigen, bis Sie eine Brücke hinter der Zypressenskulptur erreichen. Die Brücke verbindet den Turm mit dem nächsten Turm, dem Turm des Simon. Von der Brücke aus haben Sie einen spektakulären Blick auf die Stadt und können Details der Türme aus der Nähe betrachten. Danach begeben Sie sich zum Turm des Heiligen Barnabas, der mit 75 Metern der höchste Punkt ist, den Sie erreichen. Auf dem Weg nach unten können Sie sich auf die Balkone begeben, von wo aus Sie die Türme erneut aus der Nähe betrachten können.

Sagrada Familia Fassade

Die Passionsfassade

Die Passionsfassade stellt die Essenz des Lebens Jesu dar. Diese Fassade wirkt im Vergleich zur prunkvollen Geburtsfassade eher schlicht, was einer der Gründe ist, warum die Besucher letztere bevorzugen. Die Passionsfassade stellt jedoch mehr ikonische Momente im Leben Jesu dar. Der Passionsturm ist auch ein wenig höher als der Geburtsturm. Die Fassade wurde zwar erst fast 25 Jahre nach Gaudis Tod errichtet, aber die Pläne dafür basierten auf Gaudis Modell.

Obwohl die Fassade aus vier Türmen besteht, können Sie nur zwei davon besichtigen. Die Besichtigung beginnt mit einer Aufzugfahrt auf den Turm des Philippus bringt. Oben angekommen finden Sie eine Plattform, von der aus Sie den Blick aufs Meer genießen können. Anschließend gehen Sie zum Turm des Thomas hinüber, wo Sie mit 90 Metern den höchsten Punkt erreichen. Von hier aus geht es zurück nach unten.

Die Sagrada Familia Fassade entdecken

Um die Sagrada Familia zu besichtigen, müssen Sie zunächst Tickets für die Basilika buchen. Am besten kaufen Sie Ihre Sagrada Familia-Tickets online und im Voraus. In der Sagrada Familia erwarten Sie exquisite Strukturen, farbenfrohe Mosaikkunst und unglaubliche Glasarbeiten, die man am besten bei Sonnenuntergang bewundern kann.

Sagrada Familia-Tickets & Touren buchen

Kombiticket: Park Güell + Sagrada Familia

Sofortbestätigung
Digitale Tickets
Flexible Dauer
Geführte Tour
Mehr anzeigen +

Sagrada Familia: geführte Tour mit Schnelleinlass

Sofortbestätigung
Digitale Tickets
1 Std. - 2 Std. 30 Min.
Geführte Tour
Mehr anzeigen +

Besuchstipps

  • Mit Audioguides erfahren Sie mehr über die Geschichte der Sagrada Familia. 
  • Wir empfehlen, die Sagrada Familia bei einer geführten Tour zu besichtigen. So können Sie alle wichtigen Highlights sehen und mehr über die historische und architektonische Bedeutung der Basilika erfahren.
  • Von der Spitze der Türme der Sagrada Familia haben Sie eine fantastische Aussicht auf Barcelona.
  • Wir empfehlen, bequeme Schuhe und Keidung zu tragen, wenn Sie die Türme besteigen möchten.
  • Bitte beachten Sie die Kleiderordnung der Sagrada Familia.
  • Nehmen Sie kein schweres Gepäck mit in die Basilika, da nur kleine Taschen abgegeben werden können. 
  • Wenn Sie in der Stadt Hüte tragen, sollten Sie diese vor dem Betreten der Basilika abnehmen.

Häufig gestellte Fragen: Sagrada Familia Fassade

Was sind die Sagrada Familia Fassaden?

Die Sagrada Familia hat 3 Fassaden, die die Geburt, den Tod und das ewige Leben Jesu darstellen.

Kann man die Sagrada Familia Fassade besichtigen?

Ja, Sie können die Fassade der Sagrada Familia besuchen, wenn Sie Tickets buchen. Tickets für die Sagrada Familia können Sie hier online buchen.

Benötigt man Tickets, um die Sagrada Familia Fassade zu besichtigen?

Ja, Sie benötigen Tickets, um die Fassaden der Sagrada Familia aus der Nähe zu betrachten. Tickets für die Sagrada Familia können Sie hier buchen.

Wie viele Sagrada Familia Fassaden gibt es?

Die Sagrada Familia besteht aus drei Fassaden, nämlich der Geburts-, der Passions- und der Glorienfassade. Derzeit sind nur zwei der drei Fassaden fertiggestellt.

Wie viele Sagrada Familia Fassaden sind fertiggestellt?

Bislang sind nur zwei der drei Fassaden der Sagrada Familia fertiggestellt worden.

Was stellt die Glorienfassade dar?

Die Glorienfassade steht für das glorreiche ewige Leben nach dem Tod Jesu.

Was ist die Passionsfassade und wofür steht sie?

Die Passionsfassade ist die Südfassade der Basilika und ist dem Tod Jesu gewidmet.

Was stellt die Geburtsfassade dar?

Die Geburtsfassade stellt die Geburt und das frühe Leben von Jesus dar.

Welche Sagrada Familia Fassade ist die schönste?

Beide fertiggestellten Fassaden der Sagrada Familia sind beeindruckend und schwer zu vergleichen.

Weitere Infos

Sagrada Familia Fassade

Öffnungszeiten

Sagrada Familia Fassade

Messe

Sagrada Familia Fassade

Fertigstellung

Sagrada Familia Facades

Explore the Iconic Facades of Sagrada Familia

The Sagrada Familia basilica or the Basilica of the Holy Family is a phenomenal architectural wonder situated in Barcelona. The minor basilica has been under construction for over 140 years and is the largest unfinished church in the world. The UNESCO World Heritage Site combines Spanish Late Gothic, Catalan Modernism, and Art Nouveau architectural styles.

The basilica, when completed, will have 18 towers, which will come together to form three glorious facades, namely, the Nativity, the Passion, and the Glory facades. Today, only two of three facades are complete.

What are the Sagrada Familia Facades?

Sagrada Familia Facades - Facades

A facade is a view that a few towers combine and create for the viewer. The Sagrada Familia has three major views, each dedicated to a different aspect of the life of Jesus. Of the eight complete towers, four are part of the Nativity facade, and four are part of the Passion facade

  • The Nativity Facade, facing east, is the oldest among the three, and is dedicated to the birth of Jesus.
  • The Passion Facade, facing west, is dedicated to Christ's Passion/death/resurrection.
  • The third is the Glory Facade, facing south, which will act as the main facade of the basilica and is dedicated to the glorious nature of Jesus even after his death.

Explore the Sagrada Familia Facades | Main Highlights

Sagrada Familia Facades - Nativity Facade

Nativity Facade

The oldest among the three Facades is the Nativity Facade which is dedicated to the early life of Jesus. The Nativity facade was constructed between 1894 and 1930 and is the only part of the Sagrada Familia that Gaudi saw built during his lifetime.

The facade is divided into three portals upon careful observation. The one on the left is dedicated to Joseph and is known as the portal of Hope, the one on right is called the portal of Faith dedicated to the Virgin Mary, and the middle one dedicated to Jesus is called the portal of Charity. One can see the sculptures of Jesus’ birth, the shepherds, and the three Magi, along with angels around them. The doors and walls have influences from nature and designs of leaves and flowers and marble animals like turtles, salamanders, and pelicans, and a huge tree of life surrounded by white marble doves. It represents the birth of Christ and is symbolic of birth, life, and light. The facade culminates with four bell towers dedicated to St. Barnabas, St. Matthew, St. Jude, and St. Simon.

Sagrada Familia Facades - Passion Facade

Passion Facade

Guided by drawings made by Gaudi, work on the Passion Facade started in 1954 and was completed in 1976. The Passion Facade represents the Passion, Death, and Resurrection of Christ and is often considered the most iconic facade of the basilica. According to Gaudi, this facade was to be “Hard, bare and as if made of Bones” and the facade does elicit the as if it were made so. Strikingly different in form when compared to the Nativity Facade, this façade has a skeletal feel, with pillars resembling bones and expressive sculptures re-enacting the last week of Christ's life. 

 The Passion facade is supported by six large columns which resemble Sequoia trunks. It features a pyramidal pediment with 18 bone-shaped columns atop the six columns and all this culminates in a large cross with a crown of thorns. There are scenes sculpted into the facade which are divided into three levels— Jesus' last night before crucifixion at the lowest level, the Calvary of Christ at the middle level, and the Death, Burial, and Resurrection of Christ at the highest level. At the highest level, one may observe a golden sculpture of Jesus which shows his ascension to heaven. 

Sagrada Familia - Glory Facade

Glory Facade

The newest one is the Glory facade which, upon completion, will provide access to the Basilica's central nave. The Glory Facade represents Christ’s eternal glory and features scenes of Christ’s rise to heaven and eternal bliss. The construction of the facade began in 2002 and is still far from being completed. Although unfinished, it is already the tallest of all the facades. Gaudi was well aware that construction of the Glory facade would not be completed in his lifetime and hence drew just a few sketches with a general idea of what his vision and plan were, and this included representations of Death, Final Judgement, Hell, and Glory. While his models were demolished in 1936. the original fragments were used to develop the design for the façade.

The facade will have tall columns dedicated to the seven holy gifts and will depict the seven deadly gifts at the bottom and the seven heavenly virtues at the top. The facade will have five doors corresponding to the five naves of the temple, with the central one having a triple entrance, making a total of seven entrances representing the seven sacraments of Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist, Penance, Holy orders, Marriage, and Anointing of the sick. The central doors are inscribed with the words "Give us our daily bread" in fifty different languages. The handles of the door depict the letters "A" and "G" that form the initials of Antoni Gaudí within the phrase "lead us not into temptation".

Passion Facade or Nativity Facade - Which is Better?

While both facades are completely different from each other and equally magnificent in their own right, you might have to make a choice when visiting the basilica. When you purchase Sagrada Familia tickets, most tickets limit your visit to the ground level, and if you wish to have access to the towers, you must get a specific ticket with tower access. While making the booking, you will have to choose which tower you want to visit. Here's all you need to know to make a choice between the Nativity and Passion facade.

Sagrada Familia - Nativity Facade

Nativity Facade

The Nativity facade might be considered grander as they depict the birth and the early days of Jesus. The facade being the only one that was constructed during Antoni Gaudi's lifetime, probably best depicts his vision.

The visit to this façade begins with a lift taking you up Saint Jude’s tower. Once you get off the lift, you have to climb up the stairs until you reach a bridge located behind the cypress tree sculpture. The bridge connects the tower with the next tower: Simon’s. From the bridge, you can enjoy spectacular views of the city as well as view details of the towers from close. Afterward, you will head to the Saint Barnabas tower, which is the highest point you’ll reach at 75 meters. On your way down, you can make your way into the balconies, from where you can once again enjoy close views of the towers. As you climb the steps, there will be parts that are dark as they don't get sunlight and have not been fitted with electric lighting, but the view at the top makes it totally worth it.

Sagrada Familia - Passion Facade

Passion Facade

The Passion Facade depicts the poignant essence of Jesus’ life. This facade has a more bare-bones appearance compared to the grandeur of the Nativity facade, which is one of the reasons why visitors prefer the latter. However, the Passion facade depicts more iconic moments in Jesus' life. The Passion Tower is also a little higher than the Nativity Tower. While the facade was built almost 25 years after Gaudi's death, the plans for it have been based on Gaudi's model.

While the facade consists of four towers, you can only visit two of them. The visit would start with the lift taking you up the Philip Tower. Once you step out, you will find a platform at the top of the tower from where you enjoy the ocean view. You would then cross over to the Thomas Tower, where you will reach the highest point at 90 meters high. From here, you will make your way back to the ground level.

How to view the Sagrada Familia Facades?

You can view the Sagrada Familia by first booking tickets to the Basilica. Tickets are available online and it is best to book tickets in advance to avoid any last-minute hassle. The Sagrada Familia is laced with exquisite texture, colorful mosaic art, and incredible glass works that are best viewed during the sunset - almost transporting you to a different world altogether. 

Book Sagrada Familia Tickets & Tours

Priority Access to Sagrada Familia + Escorted Entrance

Free Cancellation
Instant Confirmation
Mobile Ticket
Flexible Duration
More details +

Combo: Park Güell + Sagrada Familia Tickets

Instant Confirmation
Mobile Ticket
Flexible Duration
Guided Tour
More details +

Sagrada Familia Guided Tour with Fast Track Access

Instant Confirmation
Mobile Ticket
1 hr. - 2 hr. 30 min.
Guided Tour
More details +

Visitor Tips 

  • Spend enough time learning about the history of the Sagrada Familia via audio guides. 
  • For a fully immersive experience, it is best to go on a guided tour; this is a great way to ensure you catch all the main highlights and understand the historical and architectural significance of the basilica.
  • Do not miss out on the scenic views from the top of the Sagrada Familia Towers
  • It is best to wear comfortable clothes if you plan to go to the top of the towers which are accessible by stairs. 
  • Since you are entering a basilica, which is a religious place, it is best to wear clothes that are fully covered. 
  • Do not carry heavy luggage to the basilica as only provisions for small bags to be deposited. 
  • If you are wearing hats while in the city, ensure to remove them before entering the basilica. 

Frequently Asked Questions About Sagrda Familia Facades

Q. What is the Sagrada Familia Facade?

A. The Sagrada Familia has 3 facades or faces of the basilica which are depictions and dedication to the birth, death and eternal life of Jesus.

Q. Can I visit the Sagrada Familia Facade?

A. Yes, you can visit the Sagrada Familia facade by booking tickets. You can book your Sagrada Familia tickets online.

Q. Do I need tickets to view the Sagrada Familia facades?

A. Yes, you will need tickets to view the Sagrada Familia facades up close. You can book your Sagrada Familia tickets here.

Q. How many Sagrada Familia facades are there?

A. There are three facades to the Sagrada Familia, namely, the Nativity, the Passion, and the Glory facades. Today, only two of three facades are complete.

Q. How many Sagrada Familia facades are completed?

A. As of now, only two of the three Sagrada Familia facades have been completed.

Q. What does the Glory facade represent?

A. The Glory Facade represents the glorious eternal life after the death of Jesus.

Q. What is the Passion facade and what does it represent?

A. The Passion facade is the facade to the south of the basilica and is dedicated to the death of Jesus.

Q. What does the Nativity facade represent?

A. The Nativity Facade represents the birth and the early life of Jesus.

Q. Which facade of Sagrada Familia is better?

A. Both completed facades of the Sagrada Familia are impeccable in design. While the artistic side of you will like the Nativity Facade, the emotional side of you may like the Passion facade.