10 spannende Sagrada Familia Fakten

Sagrada Familia Fakten

Die Sagrada Família im Stadtteil Eixample in Barcelona, Spanien, ist eine Basilica minor, die vom katalanischen Architekten Antoni Gaudí entworfen wurde. Die Kirche wurde im November 2010 von Papst Benedikt XVI. eingeweiht und gilt als außergewöhnliches Werk der gotischen Architektur.

Wir verraten Ihnen die interessantesten Sagrada Familia Fakten!

Die 10 interessantesten Sagrada Familia Fakten

Sagrada Familia Fakten
Sagrada Familia Fakten
Sagrada Familia Fakten
Sagrada Familia Fakten

4. Die Kirche war die Idee eines Buchhändlers

Die Sagrada Família war die Idee von Josep María Bocabella, einem gläubigen Katholiken und Gründer der Asociación Espiritual de Devotos de San José (Geistliche Vereinigung der Verehrer des Heiligen Josef). Nach einer Pilgerreise nach Rom im Jahr 1872 beschloss Bocabella, das Bauwerk in Barcelona zu errichten. Nach einigen Jahren der Suche nach einem geeigneten Grundstück für die Kirche wurde im März 1882 der erste Stein der Sagrada Família gelegt.

Sagrada Familia Fakten
Sagrada Familia Fakten

6. Wichtigste Touristenattraktion Barcelonas

Mit über 4,7 Millionen Touristen im Jahr 2019 ist die Sagrada Família eine der bekanntesten Attraktionen Barcelonas geworden. Aufgrund der COVID-19-Pandemie musste sie jedoch im März 2020 ihre Pforten für die Öffentlichkeit schließen. Im Jahr 2021 wurde sie wiedereröffnet.

Sagrada Familia Fakten

7. Die Kirche wurde zu Gaudís bedeutendstem Werk

Ähnlich wie Bocabella war Antoni Gaudí selbst ein gläubiger Katholik und verbrachte die letzten 12 Jahre seines Lebens mit dem Bau der Sagrada Família, neben Zeiten des Gebets und Fastens. Er lebte in bitterer Armut und wollte, dass die Sagrada Família eine „Kathedrale für die Armen“ wird. Er wird mit den Worten zitiert: „Mein Bauherr hat es nicht eilig“. Ironischerweise wurde er nur wenige Straßen von der Sagrada Família entfernt von einer Straßenbahn überfahren.

Sagrada Familia Fakten

8. Die Sagrada Família ist nicht die Kathedralkirche von Barcelona

Trotz ihrer Größe und Pracht betrachtet die Erzdiözese Barcelona die Sagrada Família nicht als die Kathedralkirche der Stadt. Diese Ehre wird stattdessen der Kathedrale des Heiligen Kreuzes und der Heiligen Eulalia zuteil.

Sagrada Familia Fakten
Sagrada Familia Fakten

Sagrada Familia-Tickets buchen

Kombiticket: Park Güell + Sagrada Familia

Sofortbestätigung
Digitale Tickets
Flexible Dauer
Geführte Tour
Mehr anzeigen +

Sagrada Familia: geführte Tour mit Schnelleinlass

Sofortbestätigung
Digitale Tickets
1 Std. - 2 Std. 30 Min.
Geführte Tour
Mehr anzeigen +

Häufig gestellte Fragen: Sagrada Familia Fakten

Was ist die Sagrada Familia?

Die Sagrada Família ist eine Basilica minor, die vom katalanischen Architekturpionier Antoni Gaudi entworfen wurde.

Was ist die interessanteste Tatsache über die Sagrada Família?

Die Sagrada Família ist ein unvollendetes Bauwerk und derzeit die größte unvollendete katholische Kirche der Welt.

Wo steht die Sagrada Familia?

Die Sagrada Família befindet sich im Stadtteil Eixample in der katalanischen Stadt Barcelona, Spanien.

Wer baute die Sagrada Familia?

Die wichtigste architektonische Figur der Sagrada Família ist Antoni Gaudi, der den Rest seines Lebens dem Bau der Kirche widmete. Die Kirche wurde von einem Buchhändler namens Josep María Bocabella entworfen.

Wie alt ist die Sagrada Familia?

Die Sagrada Família ist 140 Jahre alt, denn mit ihrem Bau wurde 1882 begonnen.

Wann wird die Sagrada Família voraussichtlich fertiggestellt sein?

Die Sagrada Família soll im Jahr 2026, zum hundertsten Todestag Gaudís, fertiggestellt werden.

Weitere Infos

Sagrada Familia Fakten

Innen

Sagrada Familia Fakten

Türme

Sagrada Familia Fakten

Geführte Tour

Contents

10 Interesting Sagrada Familia Facts

Located in the district of Eixample in the city of Barcelona, Spain, the Sagrada Família is a minor basilica that was designed by Catalonian architect Antoni Gaudí. The church was consecrated by Pope Benedict XVI in November 2010 and is viewed as an “extraordinary” piece of Gothic architecture.

Read on to find out some more interesting facts about the Sagrada Família!

12 Interesting Sagrada Familia facts

Sagrada Familia Facts
Sagrada Familia Facts
Sagrada Familia Facts
Sagrada Familia Facts

4. The Church was the idea of a Bookseller

The Sagrada Família was the brainchild of Josep María Bocabella, a devout Catholic and the founder of the Asociación Espiritual de Devotos de San José (Spiritual Association of Devotees of St. Joseph). Following a pilgrimage to Rome in 1872, Bocabella decided to build the structure in Barcelona. After some years of looking for the right plot for the church, the first stone of the Sagrada Família was laid in March 1882.

Sagrada Familia Facts
Sagrada Familia Facts

6. It is Barcelona’s number-one tourist attraction

Boasting over 4.7 million tourists in 2019, the Sagrada Família has become one of Barcelona’s most prominent attractions. However, the pandemic forced it to shut its doors to the public in March 2020. It was reopened in 2021.

Sagrada Familia Facts

7. The Church Became Gaudí’s Most Prolific Work

Much like Bocabella, Antoni Gaudí was a devout Catholic himself and spent the final 12 years of his life dedicated to building the Sagrada Família, alongside periods of prayer and fasting. He lived in abject poverty with intent and intended for the Sagrada Família to be a “cathedral for the poor”. He is famously quoted as saying, “My client is not in a hurry.” Ironically, he was run over by a tram a few streets away from the Sagrada Família.

Sagrada Familia Facts

8. The Sagrada Família is Not Barcelona’s Cathedral Church

Despite its prominence and splendor, the Archdiocese of Barcelona does not regard the Sagrada Família as the cathedral church of the city. That honor, instead, belongs to the Cathedral of the Holy Cross and Saint Eulalia.

Sagrada Familia Facts
Sagrada Familia Facts

Geometric designs

One Sagrada Familia facts is that Gaudi’s design for the Sagrada Familia church was meticulously crafted to ensure continuity in construction beyond his lifetime. He envisioned comprehensive drawings and models, including those of the Glory Façade, to guide future architects in realizing his vision. By planning the construction in stages, Gaudi allowed for the integration of diverse architectural styles over time, enriching the church's design with each era's contribution.

Elevators are present inside

Though not inherently surprising, another Sagrada Familia fact is the presence of elevators within the Basilica's towers is remarkable considering their slender structure. While not resembling Willy Wonka's magical glass elevators, they provide visitors access to both the lowest and highest points of the edifice. Navigating from the elevators entails traversing narrow walkways and stairs, culminating in breathtaking views of the city from the towers.




Book Sagrada Familia Tickets

Sagrada Familia Fast-Track Access with Guided Entrance
Free Cancellation
Instant Confirmation
Mobile Ticket
Flexible Duration
More details
Sagrada Familia Fast-Track Guided Tour
Instant Confirmation
Mobile Ticket
1 hr. - 2 hr.
Guided Tour
More details
Sagrada Familia Fast-Track Guided Tour with Towers Access
Free Cancellation
Instant Confirmation
Mobile Ticket
1 hr. 30 min. - 2 hr.
Guided Tour
More details

Frequently asked questions about Sagrada Familia facts

What is the Sagrada Família?

The Sagrada Família is a minor basilica designed by Catalonian architectural pioneer Antoni Gaudi.

What is the most interesting fact about Sagrada Família?

The Sagrada Família is an unfinished structure, and is currently the largest unfinished Catholic church in the world.

Where is the Sagrada Família located?

The Sagrada Família is located in the district of Eixample in the Catalonian city of Barcelona, Spain.

Who built the Sagrada Família?

The Sagrada Família’s chief architectural figure is Antoni Gaudi, who dedicated the remainder of his life to the construction of the church. The church was conceptualized by a bookseller named Josep María Bocabella.

How old is the Sagrada Família?

The Sagrada Família is 140 years old, having begun construction in 1882.

When is the Sagrada Família estimated to be completed?

The Sagrada Família is estimated for completion in the year 2026, the centenary of Gaudí’s death.